Wednesday, June 30, 2021

Can't-Wait Wednesday: The Last Debutantes

Can't-Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings and helps us spotlight upcoming releases we're eagerly anticipating!
 
Georgie Blalock 
Expected publication date: August 24, 2021
Fans of The Kennedy Debutante and Last Year in Havana will love Georgie Blalock’s new novel of a world on the cusp of change...set on the eve of World War II in the glittering world of English society and one of the last debutante seasons. 

They danced the night away, knowing their world was about to change forever. They were the debutantes of 1939, laughing on the outside, but knowing tragedy— and a war—was just around the corner.

When Valerie de Vere Cole, the niece of Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain, makes her deep curtsey to the King and Queen of England, she knows she’s part of a world about to end. The daughter of a debt-ridden father and a neglectful mother, Valerie sees firsthand that war is imminent.

Nevertheless, Valerie reinvents herself as a carefree and glittering young society woman, befriending other debutantes from England’s aristocracy as well as the vivacious Eunice Kennedy, daughter of the U.S. Ambassador. Despite her social success, the world’s troubles and Valerie’s fear of loss and loneliness prove impossible to ignore.

  How will she navigate her new life when everything in her past has taught her that happiness and stability are as fragile as peace in our time? For the moment she will forget her cares in too much champagne and waltzes. Because very soon, Valerie knows that she must find the inner strength to stand strong and carry on through the challenges of life and love and war. - from Goodreads

You all know I can't resist a WWII novel, and the way this mixes debutante culture with a country on the brink of war is really appealing!  

24 comments:

  1. I like Valerie -- for everything she is going through, she also sounds like someone determined, and fierce and a survivor.

    ReplyDelete
  2. That whole world of debs fascinates me.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I agree! I am definitely looking forward to this!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ugh, this sounds so good! I also can't resist a WWII novel. Thanks for bringing this book to my attention.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're so welcome! I can't resist them, either!

      Delete
  5. I like the cover and the idea of a young woman in the setting of WWII finding her way could be a good read. Thank you for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  6. That's a fascinating timeframe- that era with war looming. Good setting for a book. :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oooh! The cover looks interesting! Great pick!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  8. Such a pretty cover! I really like the sound of this one and will have to add it to my wish list too. I hope you enjoy The Last Debutantes when you read it.

    ReplyDelete
  9. It has been a while since I have read a WWII novel. This one sounds like it will be interesting. I hope that you love it!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love WWII stories too and this sounds like a pretty unique one.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I would have never associated debutantes with 1939. Valerie's perspective kind of reminds me of The Lovely War for some reason. I think because teens lives become irrevocably changed over WWII and she's young knowing that things are going to be rough soon.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, I agree that wars definitely affect the young a lot - it really changes what they're lives are like going forward.

      Delete
  12. Oh, it does sound super intriguing to focus on debutantes on the cusp of WWII. Hope you'll enjoy this one!

    ReplyDelete

I'm so glad you stopped by, and I would love to hear your thoughts! Comments are always greatly appreciated!